skip to main content

Central Hawke’s Bay’s Ruataniwha Ward councillors confirmed

Exham Wicham Ruatniwha Ward

Four councillors take uncontested positions to represent Central Hawke’s Bay’s (CHB) Ruataniwha Ward today for the next triennium (2019-2021), while races for Mayoralty and representation of the District’s Aramoana / Ruahine Ward are confirmed.   
Central Hawke’s Bay is represented by nine elected members which includes a Mayor, and eight Councillors representing two wards, the Ruataniwha Ward and the Aramoana / Ruahine Ward, each with four seats.
Nominations for the 2019 local body elections closed at midday today and with only four candidates nominated for the Ruataniwha Ward, these candidates assume position as elected representative for that ward.  Councillors Tim Chote, Kelly Annand and Gerard Minehan, all current sitting councillors, retain their positions uncontested. They are joined by a new face Exham Wichman, born and bred in Otane and now living in Waipukurau.
A race for Central Hawke’s Bay’s Mayoralty is confirmed with two nominated candidates competing for position - Alex Walker and a new candidate for the District, Darcie Meremere Tū Ahiahi Scowen.   
The Aramoana / Ruahine Ward also has a race for representation, with six candidates competing for the four available seats. These candidates are Darcie Meremere Tū Ahiahi Scowen, Kate Taylor, Tim Aitken, Jerry Greer, Hirani Maaka and Brent Muggeridge.
Local body elections take place on 12 October this year, and while the District’s Ruataniwha ward seats have confirmed representation, it is still important that all residents in Central Hawke’s Bay take the time to vote.
Monique Davidson, Chief Executive of Central Hawke’s Bay District Council says (CHBDC): “It’s important that everyone in CHB has a say on who represents our District, and the only way to do that is to put pen to paper on voting day.   Voting is easy and is our democratic right. It’s our chance to put those who we see fit, in charge of making decisions on our behalf, usually on very important issues that affect our daily lives. 
“I especially want our Ruataniwha Ward residents to remember, that despite having councillors already in place for their ward, they still have the very important role of voting on who becomes Mayor of CHB, and who represents us at Hawke’s Bay Regional Council and on the District Health Board. These are key positions for our district, and we need everyone to have a say on who fills them.
“Finally, I wish to congratulate our Ruataniwha Ward councillors Kelly Annand, Tim Chote, Gerard Minehan and Exham Wicham on being elected, unopposed. I look forward to working with you all to continue to serve Central Hawke’s Bay.”

Kelly Annand pic

Councillor Kelly Annand, confirmed elected member for Central Hawke's Bay's Ruataniwha Ward

Exham Wicham Pic

Councillor Exham Wicham, confirmed elected member for Central Hawke's Bay's Ruataniwha Ward

Gerard Minehan resized Pic

Councillor Gerard Minehan, confirmed elected member for Central Hawke's Bay's Ruataniwha Ward

Tim Chote resized Pic

Councillor Tim Chote, confirmed elected member for Central Hawke's Bay's Ruataniwha Ward



17 January 2022

Back to Archive


Central Hawke's Bay District Council - Copyright © 2024 Central Hawke's Bay District Council

Disclaimers and Copyright
While every endeavour has been taken by the Central Hawke's Bay District Council to ensure that the information on this website is accurate and up to date, Central Hawke's Bay District Council shall not be liable for any loss suffered through the use, directly or indirectly, of information on this website. Information contained has been assembled in good faith. Some of the information available in this site is from the New Zealand Public domain and supplied by relevant government agencies. Central Hawke's Bay District Council cannot accept any liability for its accuracy or content. Portions of the information and material on this site, including data, pages, documents, online graphics and images are protected by copyright, unless specifically notified to the contrary. Externally sourced information or material is copyright to the respective provider.

© Central Hawke's Bay District Council - / +64 6 857 8060 /