skip to main content

Mayor and four Councillors return, Ruataniwha ward to be contested


Central Hawke’s Bay District Council is welcoming back their Mayor and four sitting Councillors, while a contest is on for the remaining four seats on Council. 

When local government nominations closed at noon today, Alex Walker was re-elected unopposed as Central Hawke’s Bay Mayor for a third term. Four sitting Councillors - Kate Taylor, Tim Aitken, Jerry Greer, and Brent Muggeridge – were also re-elected unopposed in the Aramoana / Ruahine ward. 

Meanwhile, five candidates have put themselves forward for the four seats in Ruataniwha Ward. These are sitting Councillors Kelly Annand, Pip Burne, Exham Wichman, Gerard Minehan and first-time candidate Kaye Harrison. 

Central Hawke’s Bay is represented by nine elected members - a Mayor and eight Councillors representing the Ruataniwha ward and the Aramoana / Ruahine ward, each with four seats. 

Local body elections close on 8 October this year, with voting open from mid-September. With an election contest confirmed, it’s vitally important that residents in the Central Hawke’s Bay Ruataniwha ward take the time to vote. 

Doug Tate, Chief Executive of Central Hawke’s Bay District Council says:” Voting is easy, and it’s your right. It’s also your chance to choose the candidates you want to make decisions on matters that affect your life every day. Your choice helps shape a thriving Central Hawke’s Bay of the future.” 
“I’d like to warmly congratulate our Mayor Alex Walker and Councillors, Taylor, Aitken, Greer and Muggeridge on their re-election to Council. I look forward to working with all of our elected Councillors, whether re-elected or new after 8 October, in serving the community of Central Hawke’s Bay.” 
For a full list of Central Hawke’s Bay candidates, visit: 

Voting papers will start arriving in letterboxes from 16 September. If you have not yet enrolled to vote or updated your details at, you can cast a special vote from 16 September at Central Hawke’s Bay District Council offices, Ruataniwha Street, Waipawa. 


Media contact:
Doug Tate, Chief Executive, Central Hawke's Bay District Council  | T 06 857 8060 | M 027 422 9977

12 August 2022

Back to Archive


Central Hawke's Bay District Council - Copyright © 2024 Central Hawke's Bay District Council

Disclaimers and Copyright
While every endeavour has been taken by the Central Hawke's Bay District Council to ensure that the information on this website is accurate and up to date, Central Hawke's Bay District Council shall not be liable for any loss suffered through the use, directly or indirectly, of information on this website. Information contained has been assembled in good faith. Some of the information available in this site is from the New Zealand Public domain and supplied by relevant government agencies. Central Hawke's Bay District Council cannot accept any liability for its accuracy or content. Portions of the information and material on this site, including data, pages, documents, online graphics and images are protected by copyright, unless specifically notified to the contrary. Externally sourced information or material is copyright to the respective provider.

© Central Hawke's Bay District Council - / +64 6 857 8060 /