skip to main content

Parks & Reserves in Central Hawke's BayNgā papa rēhia me ngā whenua tāpui

List and locations of parks and reserves in Central Hawke's Bay.

Parks & Reserves in Central Hawke's Bay

Central Hawke's Bay District's range of recreational opportunities are derived from the natural environment, resources set aside for public enjoyment, and the efforts of private groups and individuals.

The Council also actively maintains the following parks and reserves:

Council Owned Parks & Reserves

A'Deane Park is situated at 2 Wallace Rd in Waipukurau.

A'Deane Park was gifted to the Waipukurau Borough Council in 1922 by Mr J B A'Deane of 'Ashcott" as a memorial to his late mother Mrs M.L. A'Deane. Mr A'Deane's idea was that the land could be used for public gardens and at a later date for a public building if required. In 2008 the park was upgraded with help from J B A'Deane's grand-daughter Ngaire A'Deane Tollemache Jackson and his great grand-children Alison & Ngaianne Jackson.

Nelly Jull Park is situated on Islington Drive behind the Waipawa Shops.

Nelly Jull Park was gifted to the town in 1935 by Albert Jull in memory of his wife Ellen Amelia (Nelly) who passed away in 1914. For Waipawa Township's 150th birthday in 2010 the park was upgraded with a new playground and a band rotunda.

Russell Park is situated on the corner of SH2 and River Terrace in Waipukurau.

Skateboard Parks

Madge Hunter Park is situated on Harker St in Waipawa opposite the swimming pool

Russell Park is situated on River Tce in Waipukurau. A temporary skate ramp is currently in place and a new skatepark is under consultation as part of the redevelopment of Russell Park


 Department of Conservation Reserves and Parks

Ngapaeruru Scenic Reserve



15km  south  east of Dannevirke on the Tuturewa Rd                       Blackhead  Reserve  McHardy Place and Longrange Rd, Blackhead Beach                              Church St Cemetery                              
 McLeans Bush                                Don Allan Reserve   Elsthorpe Scenic Reserve     
Harker St Reserve                           Hunter Park   Lindsay Bush Reserve       
Loten Park   Mackie St Park                Inglis Bush Scenic Reserve
Ongaonga Picnic Area   Pioneer Corner   Post Office Corner Park  
Harker St Rotary Reserve   St John Hall Gardens   Ruahine Forest Park  

A'Deanes Bush Scenic Reserve


Monckton Scenic Reserve  

Te Angiangi Marine Reserve






















PLEASE NOTE: 13 June 2017: Moncktons bridge removed - alternate access
The Moncktons bridge has been removed for safety reasons, an alternate access track has been formed but requires a stream crossing.

Take care crossing the stream. Don't cross the stream if it's in flood or you are uncomfortable with stream crossings.


Central Hawke's Bay District Council - Copyright © 2019 Central Hawke's Bay District Council

Disclaimers and Copyright
While every endeavour has been taken by the Central Hawke's Bay District Council to ensure that the information on this website is accurate and up to date, Central Hawke's Bay District Council shall not be liable for any loss suffered through the use, directly or indirectly, of information on this website. Information contained has been assembled in good faith. Some of the information available in this site is from the New Zealand Public domain and supplied by relevant government agencies. Central Hawke's Bay District Council cannot accept any liability for its accuracy or content. Portions of the information and material on this site, including data, pages, documents, online graphics and images are protected by copyright, unless specifically notified to the contrary. Externally sourced information or material is copyright to the respective provider.

© Central Hawke's Bay District Council - / +64 6 857 8060 /