skip to main content

By-Election 2020

A by-election will be held for the Ruataniwha Ward in Central Hawke’s Bay, to fill one extraordinary vacancy on the Council

By-Election for the Ruataniwha Ward

A by-election is required to fill one extraordinary vacancy for the Ruataniwha Ward. The vacancy has arisen from the recent passing of Councillor Tim Chote.



Nominations for the above position are now open and must be made on the official nomination form. Copies of the nomination form online here and a candidate information sheet online here can be requested from the Central Hawke’s Bay District Council office or from the electoral officer: Warwick Lampp Electoral Officer, PO Box 3138, Christchurch 8140 or phone 0800 666 941.

Completed nomination documents must be received by the electoral officer no later than 12 noon on Thursday 20 August 2020. Each nomination must be accompanied by a deposit of $200 incl GST, payable by EFTPOS, cash or on-line banking (see candidate information sheet for requirements).

Candidates are encouraged to also submit a candidate profile statement and recent colour photograph. The requirements for the profile statement and photo are set out in a candidate information sheet which is available with the nomination form.

All nomination documents must be lodged together. Candidates should refer to the candidate information sheet for further details.

A preliminary roll for the by-election can be inspected at the Central Hawke’s Bay District Council office, 28-32 Ruataniwha Street, Waipawa during normal office hours from Thursday 23 July to Thursday 20 August 2020. Electors may enrol or amend their enrolment details on the residential electoral roll by:

  • Completing an enrolment form available at Postshops, public libraries or the Central Hawke’s Bay District Council office
  • Calling 0800 36 76 56
  • Visiting the Electoral Commission website (

Updates to the preliminary electoral roll close at 4pm on Thursday 20 August 2020.

Applications for registration as a ratepayer elector are to be made on the non- resident ratepayer elector enrolment form available wherever copies of the electoral rolls are displayed or on the council’s website and must be returned to the electoral officer before 4pm on Thursday 20 August 2020.

Election Details

If an election is required to fill this vacancy, the election will be conducted by postal voting under the First Past the Post electoral system. Candidate names will be listed in random order on the voting papers.


Central Hawke's Bay District Council - Copyright © 2020 Central Hawke's Bay District Council

Disclaimers and Copyright
While every endeavour has been taken by the Central Hawke's Bay District Council to ensure that the information on this website is accurate and up to date, Central Hawke's Bay District Council shall not be liable for any loss suffered through the use, directly or indirectly, of information on this website. Information contained has been assembled in good faith. Some of the information available in this site is from the New Zealand Public domain and supplied by relevant government agencies. Central Hawke's Bay District Council cannot accept any liability for its accuracy or content. Portions of the information and material on this site, including data, pages, documents, online graphics and images are protected by copyright, unless specifically notified to the contrary. Externally sourced information or material is copyright to the respective provider.

© Central Hawke's Bay District Council - / +64 6 857 8060 /